Dallas, TX – The city that won’t let artists break.

The truth about why there’s no money for music, especially hip-hop in Dallas.

If you live in Dallas, Tx and are somehow involved in the music scene, I can almost guarantee you know what I am talking about when I say there’s no money for music in Dallas. For the last 6 years I have been trying to figure out a way for myself to have a career in an industry that I love, the music industry. Unfortunately, I also don’t believe or have the patience to go work for some radio station or label since I’ve already done that. I also noticed, like many other people I have come across, that there wasn’t an established entertainment hub in my city. Now if you didn’t know, Dallas is one of the most increasingly growing cities with it’s surrounding metroplex. Not only do many fortune 500 companies already call this home, but every day more companies are deciding to move their home base to Texas for logical reasons. So I started on a mission to figure out why a hub hadn’t been created, and I had to figure out how I could start one. Now this isn’t an article about how there’s no good music in my city or how no one ever goes to the shows that artists perform at. Trust me I’ve heard some fantastic music, especially hip-hop, and I’ve seen some acts draw crowds from the music. At the end of the day though, that’s where it stops in Dallas. I’ve seen plenty of bands come and go in the area and the only ones that are ever successful are the ones that end up leaving this thriving city. Now doesn’t that seem a little weird to you? Did you know that, Demi Lovato, Jamie Foxx, and Erykah Badu are all from the DFW or Dallas Ft. Worth Metroplex. Am I the only one who thinks that it’s weird that these highly recognized artists have made it out of the city and Dallas still doesn’t have a thriving entertainment industry? I’m not blaming any of these artists for not coming back and making Dallas an entertainment Capital, but I bet they could help the process a little more. After my 6 years of struggling to get myself out to Dallas as an entertainer, I kept coming across the same problem. Eventually it always came down to one thing in this industry…you need money to go any further. Now to me that seemed really weird. How could you just “be discovered” by someone walking into a bar or local show in another city, but in Dallas, no one is interested so you have to leave or pay to get in front of somebody that can actually help you and that still doesn’t guarantee you’ll be seen. So I set out to find some money for my team so that we can start the cash flow for a possibly major entertainment hub. After going through with several meetings with potential investors, I was finally getting a grasp on why no one had really been given money to start this business in the first place, it’s risky. These investors also gave me some insight onto why an entertainment hub hasn’t been set up here yet. The answer was so simple it blew my mind…because the corporations in charge of distribution haven’t set up shop in Dallas yet, they aren’t ready for and won’t allow a hub to thrive unless they are encouraging it. It’s all about structure and until the entire foundation is laid in Dallas, it will take more than good music, some luck, and local shows, and the Internet to make a living from your music and get your music signed to a major label in Dallas. I know I am still doing everything I can to make it happen for the city. Some of our team is going to Atlanta to experience an entertainment hub so that we can bring that feeling back to Dallas. Keep doing what you love fam. Good luck out there!

See what I’m doing to help the industry:

Twitter & Instagram: @mrvancepaynter

Snapchat: vip4604

 

Let me know how you can help:

 

 

Leave a Reply

